Thursday, February 12, 2015

San Luis Valley counties collaborate on public health needs

San Luis Valley
Two years ago, Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Mineral, Rio Grande and Saguachethe counties were selected to participate in a learning community convened by the Center for Sharing Public Health Services. The Center, which is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and managed by the Kansas Health Institute, serves as a national resource on cross-jurisdictional sharing (CJS) — a term used to describe collaborating with other public entities in order to build economies of scale that allow more effective and efficient operations.
Leaders in San Luis Valley applied to participate in the learning community because they thought collaborating more formally on public health issues would allow them to expand services in their region. In San Luis Valley, the team was able to work through the explore phase rather quickly due to their long history of working together as a region. 
In January 2014, the counties entered into the intergovernmental agreement that officially recognized the collaboration as the San Luis Valley Public Health Partnership. The partnership's mission is to develop, implement and sustain models of shared public health services that increase capacity, contain costs, maximize assets and more effectively impact health outcomes. An operating agreement also was finalized at that time.
To learn more, go to the National Association of Counties.

No comments:

Post a Comment